NHS, VAMS Science Bowl Teams Compete at Nationals

high school students at science bowl national tournamentCongratulations to our students on the Niskayuna High School and Van Antwerp Middle School Science Bowl Teams who competed in the prestigious U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) National Science Bowl this past weekend! 

The nationwide academic competition tests students’ knowledge in all areas of science and mathematics. These teams face-off in a fast-paced question-and-answer format, being tested on a range of science disciplines including biology, chemistry, Earth science, physics, energy and math.

The NHS Science Bowl Team made it the top 32 out of hundreds of high school teams across the country! The team includes Arjun Rangarajan, Mihir Kulkarni, Daniel Yang, Aarush Iyengar and Tarun Jacob. They are coached by Ms. Elizabeth Kenny.

middle school kids at national science bowl

The Van Antwerp Middle School Science Bowl Team also showed strong competition in the National Science Bowl among 48 middle schools from around the country. The VAMS team includes Tejas Jacob (captain), Rohit Kulkarni, Ruchir Bollapragada, Daphne Pillai and Sean Sung. The team is coached by Mr. Biju Jacob.