Planning for Next Year & How to Get Involved

A Note from the Superintendent

I think we all recognize that there is a great deal of interest in and speculation about what next school year will look like. The purpose of this message is to let you know that we are prepared to again involve as many stakeholders who are interested in being part of the planning. At the same time, the shape the process takes and the work that is needed will be informed by the guidance we receive from the state and the protocols they do, or do not, call for. We do not yet have this information.

As we shared before, our hope is to return to in-person instruction daily for all K-12 students and to have a school year that more closely resembles years prior to this year. We also know that different scenarios are possible, depending on guidance from the state.

So, we are moving forward with the following factors in mind. Please note the invitation to be part of this planning.

  1. Reopening committees from last summer will be ready to do whatever work is needed once we have updated guidance from the state, and some may convene in the meantime. If you would like to join a subcommittee, please reach out to the chair or co-chair listed.

  2. We recognize that everyone’s time and energy is limited. We are getting ready to do whatever work is needed, but do not want to waste any time or energy in the absence of guidance from the state. Something approaching a “return to normalcy” would also be welcome news if that is the advice we get from public health experts.

  3.  We understand the need to have plans for next year set as soon as possible. We will do our best to balance this with the need to make sure our plans are informed by the latest public health information and state requirements.

Again, if you would like to be involved in one of the committees, please email the chair/co-chair listed below.

Thank you for everything you are doing to support our students this year, and we will continue to keep you informed as we move forward.

Cosimo

Planning Committees & Chairs

Social/Emotional Support & Student Engagement
John Moskov, jmoskov@niskyschools.org 

Communications & Outreach
Matt Leon, mleon@niskyschools.org 

Family & Guest Visitation Guidelines
Anthony Malizia, amalizia@niskyschools.org 

Instructional Planning, Design & Professional Learning
Marie Digirolamo, mdigirolamo@niskyschools.org 

Classroom Setup
William Anders & Mike Kovall, wanders@niskyschools.org or mkovall@niskyschools.org 

Clubs & Extracurriculars
Eric Hughes & William Wales, ehughes@niskyschools.org or wwales@niskyschools.org 

COVID-19 Facility, Health and Safety Training
Anthony Lento and Tim Murphy, alento@niskyschools.org or timothy.murphy@neric.org 

Employee Procedures
Debra Berndt & Shireen Fasciglione, dberndt@niskyschools.org or sfasciglione@niskyschools.org