NDNY-FCBA Constitutional Scholars Program essay contest now open

The Northern District of New York Federal Court Bar Association (NDNY-FCBA) Constitutional Scholars Program essay contest is now open to high school students.

Subject: The origin of some aspect of the U.S. Constitution–specifically, one of the seven topics listed on www.constitutionalscholars.org.

Eligibility: All students in grades 9 through 12 in the 32 counties that constitute the Northern District of New York (i.e., Albany, Broome, Cayuga, Chenango, Clinton, Columbia, Cortland, Delaware, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Montgomery, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, Otsego, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, St. Lawrence, Tioga Tompkins, Ulster, Warren and Washington). There is no entry fee. But each student may submit only one essay per annual contest.

Format: A typed original essay of up to 2,000 words based exclusively on primary sources cited in a recognized system. No reference to the student’s name may appear on the essay but must appear on a title page, along with the student’s grade level, school, home mailing address, telephone number, and any email address.

Deadline: Essays are due by the end of February 12, 2019. Essays may be submitted one of two ways: (1) as an email attachment in Word, Word Perfect or PDF format (not Google Docs or Mac Pages) sent to director@constitutionalscholars.org, or (2) by regular U.S. Mail sent to Michael G. Langan, Esq., Chambers of Hon. Glenn T. Suddaby, U.S. District Court, 100 S. Clinton Street, Syracuse NY 13261.

Judging: By a panel of three or more federal court judges based on clarity, factual support and persuasiveness, to be determined by the judges in their sole discretion. Results will be announced on May 1, 2019 (Law Day).

Prizes: Prizes will be awarded in each of two sections (one for public high school students and the other for private high school students). The first place winner in each section will receive a prize of $750; the second place winner in each section will receive a prize of $300; the third place winner in each section will receive a prize of $150; and the Honorable Mention winner in each section will receive a prize of $50.