About Us

History & Mission

Contact Us


District News


Forms & Publications


International Scholars Program

A to Z Site Index

Mission Statement:
Empower each individual to make responsible choices, meet challenges, achieve personal success, and contribute to a global society.

December 23, 2014


Nine NHS students named 2015 National Merit and National Achievement semifinalists

picture of semifinalists

At its meeting on December 16, the Board of Education held a ceremony to recognize the eight Niskayuna High School students who are 2015 National Merit Scholar Contest Semifinalists and National Achievement Contest Semifinalist.

Congratulations to: Shreya Arora, Patrick Holmes, Robert Kaucic, Chrissy Ying Li, Samir Menon, Matthew Mizbani, Martin Schreiner, Brian Vermilyea for being named National Merit Scholar Semifinalists, and Garrett Whitley for being named the National Achievement Scholar Semifinalist.

Each of the students was introduced by High School Princpal John Rickert at the meeting, who talked about not just this accomplishment, but their overall academic achievements, highlights of their high school career, and their contributions to the school in the classroom and many clubs and activities.

"I would like to extend our most sincere congratulations to these nine students for all of their respective accomplishments and wish them the best of luck as they continue in the process towards becoming National Merit Finalists," Mr. Rickert said.

Natioal Merit Scholarship and National Achievement Scholarship semifinalists are among the top high school seniors in the country based on their scores on the PSAT administered in the fall of 2013.

 To become a finalist, semifinalists and his or her high school must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about the Semifi nalist's academic record,participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. Finalists are announced in the winter, scholarship winners are announced in the spring.

Best of luck to our Niskayuna High School students!